Yoga: Chakras

Chakra literally means “spinning wheel.”  According to the yogic view, chakras are a convergence of energy, thoughts/feelings, and the physical body. Our consciousness (mind) gets projected through these wheels, and this largely determines how we experience reality.

This is from our emotional reactions, our desires or aversions, our level of confidence or fear, even the manifestation of physical symptoms. By working with these centers in yoga practice, we can begin to unravel any blocks. It is these blocks that may prevent the unfolding into our highest potential. 

patient suffering forom trauma being treated by yoga teacher
A patient suffering from trauma being treated by a yoga teacher

Yoga: Subtle Body

According to yoga tradition, the subtle body is a part of you that you can’t see or touch. It’s where your energy flows, which is why it’s also referred to as the energy body. There are seven key points in the subtle body that are thought to be vortexes of energy, known as chakras.

They are: Muladhara (Root Chakra), Svadhisthana (Sacral or Pelvic Chakra), Manipura (Navel Chakra), Anahata (Heart Chakra), Vishuddha (Throat Chakra), Anja (Third-Eye Chakra) and Sahasrara (Crown Chakra). When energy becomes blocked in a chakra, it triggers physical, mental, or emotional imbalances.

This in turn manifest in symptoms such as anxiety, lethargy, or poor digestion.  A well-tuned asana practice can free up energy and stimulate an imbalanced chakra, paving the way for that wonderful internal shift for which yoga is known. With just a little bit of coaching, you can tap into the chakras as a potent way of harnessing and shifting your energy in the direction you want it to go.

Yoga: Self-Care

Start by thinking of chakras as a blueprint for your own self-care, and your yoga practice as the architect that makes that blueprint a reality. The most direct way to use the chakras is to learn how each one is associated with an element in nature.

In order to restore balance in your chakras, you must first tune in to how you’re feeling. In turn you then figure out which chakra to stimulate to counteract the imbalance.

For example, if you’re feeling low in energy, you can do poses that target the navel chakra to rekindle your inner fire. If you’re feeling anxious and long to feel more grounded, choose poses for the earthy root chakra. Or if you seek more courage to speak your truth, the right poses can open and stimulate the throat chakra.

The 7 chakras
The 7 chakras

The effects of a chakra-based practice can have a tangible, empowering ripple effect on your life.

In our Yoga Teacher Training in Victoria and Vancouver, we will cover the topic about Chakras. We teach them to show how they can be collaborated with yoga poses. Let’s join us for your deeper understanding about Chakras!

Tagged on: